Founded in 1995, the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities (NAPRA) is an alliance of the provincial and territorial pharmacy regulatory authorities across Canada as well as the Pharmacy Services Division of the Canadian Armed Forces. NAPRA’s members regulate the practice of pharmacy in their respective jurisdictions in Canada and their primary mandate is to protect and serve the public interest.

NAPRA provides a platform for its members to discuss and take a national approach in addressing common issues in the practice of pharmacy in Canada.


National leadership in the pursuit of pharmacy regulatory excellence.


Pharmacy regulatory excellence.


  • Leadership. We provide strong, innovative and proactive leadership in the regulation of pharmacy practice. 
  • Excellence. We commit to quality in all of our activities to support serving the public interest. 
  • Integrity. We act with integrity, honesty and in an ethical manner with each other, our partners and our stakeholders. 
  • Respect. We recognize, consider and value the contributions and differences of others, and treat everyone respectfully. We resolve issues openly and constructively. 
  • Transparency. We communicate our purpose and objectives clearly. We strive for openness in what we do and the decisions we take. 
  • Collaboration. We value collaboration both within NAPRA and with stakeholders. We seek to build productive relationships at all levels.

Pharmacy Regulation in Canada

NAPRA’s member organizations regulate the practice of pharmacy and the operation of pharmacies in their respective jurisdictions in Canada. 

Pharmacy in Canada is one of many self-regulating professions. This means that the federal and provincial/territorial governments have delegated their authority to regulate certain professions to external bodies, whereby the professions regulate themselves. As a result of this delegation of authority, certain professions, such as pharmacy, medicine and engineering, have the authority and responsibility to establish performance, technical, ethical and educational criteria to guide their profession, and to license individuals and their practice environments. They have a mandate of public protection and they protect the public by ensuring that the established licensure and performance requirements are met or exceeded and that disciplinary actions are effectuated when the standards are not met.

As a national association for the regulatory bodies for pharmacy, NAPRA’s main purpose is to serve its membership and to act as a resource for the public by providing information and guidance on pharmacy regulation in Canada.

NAPRA has a mandate from its membership to work on their behalf in certain areas such as:

  • Creating national model standards and guidelines that its members can in turn adopt or adapt for use in their own jurisdictions. Harmonizing the practice of pharmacy across jurisdictions where possible facilitates the movement of pharmacy professionals across jurisdictions and promotes a consistent level of pharmacy care for patients;
  • Engaging in dialogue with federal and other domestic and international government agencies and various health-related professional organizations on behalf of all Canadian pharmacy regulatory authorities;
  • Administering programs such as the National Drug Schedules and Pharmacists’ Gateway Canada on behalf of its members; and
  • Providing a platform to adopt a national approach in discussing common issues affecting pharmacy practice in Canada.

Complete List of Canada’s Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities and Contact Details

Annual Reports 

NAPRA Governance

NAPRA’s Board of Directors is comprised of 17 members. This includes all 14 pharmacy regulatory authorities in Canada, representing their respective jurisdictions.

Board of Directors

DirectorPharmacy Regulatory Authority
Greg EberhartAlberta College of Pharmacy
Sean MeredithCanadian Armed Forces – Pharmacy Services Division
Suzanne SolvenCollege of Pharmacists of British Columbia
Kevin HamiltonCollege of Pharmacists of Manitoba
Stephanie ConnollyCommunity Services – Government of Yukon
Barbara HarveyDepartment of Health – Government of Nunavut
Ravan BedingfieldHealth and Social Services – Government of the Northwest Territories
Anastasia ShiamptanisNew Brunswick College of Pharmacists
Noelle PattenNewfoundland and Labrador Pharmacy Board
Beverley Zwicker, Vice ChairNova Scotia College of Pharmacists
Shenda TanchakOntario College of Pharmacists
Manon Lambert, Past ChairOrdre des pharmaciens du Québec
Michelle WyandPrince Edward Island College of Pharmacy
Jeana WendelSaskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals
David Collie, Chair
Debbie Fischer
Tana Yoon
Adele FifieldNAPRA Executive Director (ex-officio)